Which NEBOSH health and safety training course should you take?

Health and safety training

Health and safety training body – The National Examination Board in Occupational Safety and Health, or NEBOSH, is an independent organisation offering health and safety training that’s recognised and respected around the world.

Covering general health and safety management, environmental awareness, construction health and safety, and fire safety and risk management, a wide range of training is available. So which course might be best for you – here’s a brief run-down of some of the options.

Award level

Health and Safety at Work

The NEBOSH Health and Safety at Work qualification could be suitable if you’re a facilities manager, or perhaps a supervisor/team leader. The course covers the principles of health and safety and prompts you to consider health and safety in all elements of your work – it provides a broad understanding of the risk assessment process, with no prior knowledge being necessary.

Certificate level

National General Certificate in Occupational Health and Safety

The National General Certificate in Occupational Health and Safety offers supervisors and line managers a deeper understanding of risk management and the principles behind it. This health and safety training course includes UK health and safety laws, identification of hazards in the workplace, and management of the associated risks. You also carry out a health and safety inspection at work, write a report, and provide recommendations – a useful practical exercise that consolidates your learning.

National Certificate in Construction Health and Safety

Covering the main UK health and safety requirements for the construction industry, including the Construction (Design and Management) Regulations 2015, the National Certificate in Construction Health and Safety is suitable for a range of construction sectors, including property management, facilities, and civil engineering. Identifying and controlling construction site hazards are key elements, and you’ll complete an on-site safety inspection and management report.

International Certificate in Fire Safety and Risk Management

If you hold any practical responsibilities for fire safety at work, this International Certificate in Fire Safety and Risk Management course can offer the knowledge to carry out the required actions with confidence, particularly in relation to low risk fire risk assessments. Health and safety training includes fire protection of buildings, safety of individuals in the event of fire, and causes/prevention of fire. You’ll also carry out a practical fire risk assessment as part of the course.

Health and Safety Training – Taking a NEBOSH course

All of the above courses can be taken via open and distance learning, and also e-learning, as well as in-person on a full time or part time (day or evening) basis. Funding may be available via the following options:

For more information on health and safety in your organisation, or NEBOSH health and safety training courses in particular, please contact one of our experts at Acorn Analytical Services. We provide property and construction managers with a range of health and safety services, including construction health and safety inspections and audits, fire risk assessments, and CDM consulting.  

More Health and Safety Articles

Acorn Safety Services - National Forklift Day

What is the impact of a forklift truck accident?

Today is National Forklift Safety Day, a day that aims to raise awareness of the dangers of forklift trucks and the importance of forklift training. Kevin Burt, who joined Acorn Safety Services in April as our new Health and Safety ...


Understanding RIDDOR

Understanding RIDDOR is crucial for maintaining a safe workplace. This comprehensive guide explains the Reporting of Injuries, Diseases and Dangerous Occurrences Regulations, detailing its history, purpose, and steps to ensure compliance. Learn about your legal obligations, how to report incidents, and the importance of accurate record-keeping. If you need help understanding RIDDOR or think you have a RIDDOR case, contact Acorn Safety Services for expert assistance and support.

Cases of fire

Understanding the Different Classes of Fire

Understanding the different classes of fire is crucial for effective fire safety. This comprehensive guide covers Class A, B, C, D, Electrical, and Class F fires, detailing how to extinguish each type. From residential to industrial settings, knowing the right extinguishing methods can save lives and property. Dive into practical advice, historical context, and actionable tips to enhance your fire safety knowledge. Stay informed and prepared with Acorn Safety Services.

The team from Acorn Safety Services celebrate their success at the SME Northamptonshire Awards

Reflecting on our success at the SME Northamptonshire Awards

THE team at Acorn Safety Services was delighted to attend the SME Northamptonshire Awards earlier this month – a unique celebration of some of the brightest and best businesses in Northamptonshire. Just four years after its launch, Acorn Safety Services ...

12342 Next